Employed Again

So for those of you who read my blog (as regularly as I post new stuff anyway), you’ll know that I was working at an E-Commerce website when I started posting, and then got “let go”.

Well, I found another job! I’ve been working here a month now, and the best part about it is that it’s as close to what I want to be doing for a career as dammit is to swearing. The only way it’s not exactly what I want to be doing is the fact that I’m writing web applications in ASP classic, not asp.NET. It’s not too bad, at the very least, I’m learning the “foundation” stuff I missed out on when I was teaching myself code…

I’m really enjoying it here, the people are awesome, and every friday afternoon’s a rush. We have a 38m tall tower in the back. We take hardware (like computer screens, UPSs, printer, etc.) that doesn’t work to the top of the tower and drop it onto a slab of concrete on the ground (we aim for the boss’ car, but miss most of the time j/k :-P). All this while drinking beer and wine…
I’m told there’s been an accident or two though, which is why we’re not allowed to go up if we’ve had even 1 beer… One of the worst accidents I heard about was one of the technicians went up and fell, he broke both his legs in a number of places…

Overall, it’s quite an experience to be working here. I’m still working on a temporary contact, and I really hope that when that’s finished, I’ll be offered a permanent contract. So much in my life depends on it, so I really want this. Hold thumbs for me ppl!!!!

I’m working on an update for my netGuest application… If you wanna go have a look at that, the URL is http://code.msdn.com/netguest – you can download it all there. Just please don’t change anything.

The next – or should I say first – update should be ready by the end of May at the absolute latest. I know, I’ve been talking about it for a while, but things being as they are, I’ve got a lot on my plate at the moment (what with giving 110% to my job and all), so I really don’t feel like coding when I get home at night.

Anyway, I’d like to thank you for your time, it means a lot to me that you’d spend even 5mins of your day here and I really appreciate that.

Until next time, keep smiling!!!

-L

Leave a Reply

